Exploring new Mediums

Hello friends! It’s been a while! I’ve been super busy with the semester starting and a new job and all kinds of other stuff. This semester I’m not taking a painting course (which is very sad), but I am taking photo and 3D design! Both classes are completely new mediums to me and, honestly, very challenging at times (particularly 3D design). This being said, I’m enjoying trying out new things and gaining new ways of viewing the world around me.

First of all, here’s my new baby in this horribly edited instagram photo. A Nikon D50.
10420406_858420824168317_3366895092880270636_n

I got her for a whole $230 at the local photography store and she has been fantastic.I’ve really found a new liberation in photography, even though I’m not very good at it. Some ideas only need to take seconds to come into fruition and then I’m satisfied with what I’ve said. Others, like ones I convey in paintings, require more time for me to sort through or heal from. I’ve never been very good with words, but I don’t know how else to describe that feeling haha.

Sculpture has been a nightmare. It’s very, very hard, but I’m grateful for it. It challenges me in many ways and I actually have to fight for an A (which is great!) It is helping me so much in being considerate of details, which has been my goal for so long. It’s time intensive, but there is great victory found in finishing the projects.

Without further ado, here’s some of the photos I’ve taken over the last couple of months. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

