ozone.

ozone_small

ozone. watercolor on paper.

o·zone: n. a colorless unstable toxic gas with a pungent odor and powerful oxidizing properties, formed from oxygen by electrical discharges or ultraviolet light. It differs from normal oxygen (O2) in having three atoms in its molecule (O3).
When I created this piece I wasn’t sure what I was trying to say, what I was feeling. It was after a pretty intense conversation with a friend and started out as something completely different before evolving into something like this. Perhaps it was simply a pretty picture, or detox or whatever. Or perhaps not. I don’t know. All I know is that that protective layer, the one that shields me from the sharp light of my past, that shields me from that which is most painful, is thinning. My ozone layer, the one that I formed to protect me, is dying and soon it will be gone and nothing will be there to protect me anymore…
Or perhaps I’m just rambling in a way that makes sense to no one but myself :). Anyway, I will photograph this a bit better later, wanted to experiment with a different photography technique and didn’t really like the outcome. Cheers.
Leave a Reply

