zona + flu

zona

zona.

hello y’all! It’s been a while since I’ve posted here, mostly because I’ve been uping my instagram game and trying to post at least once a week. I’ve noticed though that that means I don’t really have a chance to share what a certain piece is about or just about… Life. Or direction as an artist. Or any of that haha.

So as an artist I really feel myself growing. I was really paralyzed by fear of creating something I wasn’t happy with. I was always putting pressure on myself to have a really good idea really worked out before I started actually doing anything. The pressure just made art enjoyable for me; there was no room for failure. And then I had an epiphany.

I don’t have to show everyone everything. I can always paint over it.

W O W

wish I had learned that in college.

I think the pressure really was left over from my art school days and, once I let that go, I was able to create much more freely and remind myself why I loved painting in the first place. I also became very good friends with another local artist in the area and have been very inspired by her ethic and having work days together. I’m still not great at marketing and still looking for my “niche” as and artist, but it’s been a fun ride exploring all kinds of different things.

This week I got ran over by the flu. For 4 straight days I was stuck inside losing my mind, but also able to reflect on a lot of things. I spent some much needed time at the easel re-purposing some old work I was unhappy with. One of those experiments I finished and that became zona!

Originally this was a half finished portrait that has literally been sitting on my easel for months. And honestly, it was just boring. So I started turning it this way and that and was thinking about my upcoming trip to Colorado and Bam! I saw it! Desert cliffs, a sky line, those deep values meeting the lighter unfinished half… It wasn’t till half way through that I decided to leave the face and recreate it a bit. It was really fun to let loose and think about hours spent in car rides driving across the desert states linking California and Texas. It’s a sweet memory of my childhood when I was caught between the two places.

Zona came from that mind space and, to be honest, I’m pretty pleased with the result :). Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

